My life as a (design) celebrity ('s-godbrother's-best-friend)

May 7, 2009 § Leave a comment

 

Pieces, Inc

Lee Kleinhelter is the godsister of one of my best friends. I know, far-fetched though it sounds, I was at her ridiculously stunning wedding in Charleston, SC a few years ago and fell in love with her style (my date/best friend and I wore matching outfits – chocolate brown and baby pink, while her wedding was chocolate brown and lime green themed. We didn’t want to clash with the decor… and oh, we did not).

I won’t pretend to be her good friend, but I am a loyal follower of her store’s website. I can’t afford a single thing on it, but the press she has received for her taste is overwhelming.

Some of my favorites:

 

Elle Decor Feature - May 2008

Elle Decor Feature - May 2008 - Store Interior

 

Cottage Living - November 2008

Cottage Living - December 2008

 

 

Cottage Living - December 2008

Cottage Living - December 2008

She uses bright white a lot, which I quite love, in combination with loud punches of color. Her design is happy, clean, sophisticated, and comfy… and she is the repurposed furniture goddess of the South.

Lee has also been compared to Kelly Wearstler, whose style I admire. Let’s take a gander.

 

Kelly Wearstler montage courtesy of Bandelle

Kelly Wearstler montage courtesy of Bandelle

 

 

 

Ah! Hm! I wonder why their fabulous design tastes are compared… oh.. I bet it has something to do with the use of primary colors like yellow against otherwise neutral backgrounds. It probably also draws from the use of classic pieces in a contemporary setting, like Grecian busts in front of a geometric tile background. Well, I love them both. Good work, ladies.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My life as a (design) celebrity ('s-godbrother's-best-friend) at ittle.

meta

