Things I Have a Lot of: BOOKS

May 7, 2009 § 1 Comment

I have vivid childhood memories in general. I just remember my childhood very well. And I remember sisterly arguments being a major part of that (we are the best of friends now). One of my sister’s biggest pet peeves was and is reading over her shoulder (I share that). Her nose was almost always buried in a book and it drove me mad because I wanted to play. But as the old adage goes, if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em. Thus, my love of reading was born, and now I have too many books that I don’t really know what to do with because my apartment is never big enough to host them all.

Most of us don’t have space in our house for a library. I think that’s my dream, to have an actual room devoted to books. But the next apartment I am moving into, in Illinois, is actually quite large – the previous tenant, in the main room, had a full-size pool table, couch, twin-size bed, and other scattered furniture, comfortably. 

No, no library for me still, but perhaps a creative way to store books. 

 

We all remember Belles library, from Beauty and the Beast... yeah I wish.

We all remember Belle's library, from Beauty and the Beast... yeah I wish.

 

Love the idea of arranging books by color - Courtesy Apartment Therapy

Love the idea of arranging books by color - Courtesy Apartment Therapy

 

 

From the new Coco Chanel movie.

From the new Coco Chanel movie.

 

Really want to do this - using crates as shelves - but I am having a heck of a time finding the crates! Suggestions?

Really want to do this - using crates as shelves - but I am having a heck of a time finding the crates! Suggestions?

 

And another dream, the Trinity College Library in Dublin

And another dream, the Trinity College Library in Dublin

 

I’ll figure it out and let you know what I do… and I will concede that my sister is still the book queen.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Things I Have a Lot of: BOOKS

  • Lizzie says:

    That’s right, biotch!! I do love me some books. And I am a sucker for libraries. One of my favorites will always be the library from “Casper”…remember that?? Two levels with wrought-iron spiral staircase? Badassedness.

    The arranging for color idea is lovely but would drive me totally mad.

    One day I WILL have a library with the rolling ladders!!

    The crates are divine. Love that look. Have you tried architectural salvage or maybe some old farm/estate sales? Yard sales??

    Love you!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things I Have a Lot of: BOOKS at ittle.

meta

