New Obsession: Paris Hotel Boutique Online Store AND Blog… are you kidding me?

May 30, 2009 § Leave a comment

I really feel that I should have lived in a fancier era. I wear pearls to the gym and diamond stud earrings to bed. I have a vintage satin kimono that I like to prance around in with heels when I’m getting ready to go somewhere. And with some Ella and Louis wailing in the background during my bubble bath, I may as well be getting ready to go to Ritz Carlton for some Friday night dancing in my custom-tailored lemon taffeta dress.

 

me, in dream land.

me, in dream land.

 

I posed for this Dresden-style statue... obviously, the dress was made for me *giggle*

I posed for this Dresden-style statue... obviously, the dress was made for me *giggle*

 

 

 

So… clearly, I fell in love when I ran into the Paris Hotel Boutique & Blog. It sounds just like what it is. An online store that features “vintage one-of-a-kind pieces celebrating the glitz and glamour of a bygone era,” and the owner’s blog that takes out the pieces and “celebrates the glitz and glamour of a bygone era.” Now this, THIS is right up my alley. Give me glamorous, give me vintage, and by all means – give me glitz – I am a happy girl. I clicked through every piece on the website and thought, ooooh I have to post this one! and this one! and this one! and this one! and…

So let’s talk about the blog first and save the boutique for dessert. Because in dessert land, it is a big, honkin’ triple chocolate cake drizzled with fudge, liquor, and sin.

So the first post I saw on this blog is one that features the York Hotel‘s color scheme based on the movie Vertigo – absolutely beautiful, it employs the use of peaches and oranges (what I like to call sunset colors) against neutrals.

Via Paris Hotel Boutique

Via Paris Hotel Boutique

Via Paris Hotel Boutique

Via Paris Hotel Boutique

Via Paris Hotel Boutique

Via Paris Hotel Boutique

There is also a mouth-watering post about San Francisco sweet shop, Miette, and I just like the colors in the pictures… okay, and the food:

 

Miette

Miette

 

 

Anyway, it’s a lovely blog. You will really enjoy it, and I absolutely recommend adding it to your blogroll or favorites (I’m about to do the same).

 

*drumroll*

Let’s move on to the shop. Oh dear me.

1950s Opaline Chandelier - $1525

1950s Opaline Chandelier - $1525

Im devastated this sold... only $25! Waldorf Astoria Promotional Pillow

I'm devastated this sold... only $25! Waldorf Astoria Promotional Pillow

 

Digging this but its a bit pricey for me - Turn of the Century San Fran sign - $165

Digging this but it's a bit pricey for me - Turn of the Century San Fran sign - $165

 

I have this thing about old suitcases. 1930s Vintage Leather Suitcases - $140

I have this thing about old suitcases. Can't you just picture a bellhop carrying these into a beautiful hotel for a girl in a cute little 1930s outfit? 1930s Vintage Leather Suitcases - $140

 

Vintage Turquoise Plaster Pedestal - SOLD, sadly.

Vintage Turquoise Plaster Pedestal - SOLD, sadly.

Anyhow, the online boutique is essentially everything you want your crappy local antique store to be but isn’t. I’m going to check this one obsessively and mark my words, something from the boutique will be mine. When I can afford it.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Obsession: Paris Hotel Boutique Online Store AND Blog… are you kidding me? at ittle.

meta

