Interesting Color Inspiration: Dr Seuss

June 7, 2009 § Leave a comment

When I was in high school my dad gave me a wonderful Valentine’s Day gift: Dr Seuss’s Oh the Places You’ll Go!. I love the book for its content and of course now my sentimental attachment to it with my father, but also the illustrations – imaginative, creative, and eye-catchingly colorful. I know sometimes I have a tendency to want to stick to a color palette in a room (which I am trying very hard not to do too much in my new place) of two or three if (I’m feeling really crazy) hues, but it really opens up possibility and ease to forget all that. It is good to have some sort of idea where you are going with the colors so it doesn’t look like a 64-pack box of Crayons threw-up in your home, but loosen up a little. Dr Seuss’s illustrations employ lovely and profound color combos that sort of make you stop and go, “Hm. I never thought of that.”  

Check out these beautiful Dr Seuss illustrations and get inspired. Take note of the colors he uses for accents, base color, and negative space – oftentimes, they actually are neutrals, or grey-ed down a bit. He tends to feature the bright colors and accent with neutrals – maybe try reversing the philosophy! A good rule of thumb – Start with a base of neutrals, or a neutralized color, and splash in accessories or smaller furniture with color – a desk here, a chair there, pillows, vases, etc., and of course, art.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Interesting Color Inspiration: Dr Seuss at ittle.

meta

