Creative blocks and renewed inspiration

June 18, 2009 § Leave a comment

Sorry for not posting for a few days. I’ve been a little busy working out like crazy to get ready for the show I’m about to start on Monday (and then you may not hear from me for AWHILE) but I wanted to show you some things that have inspired my next few projects. I’ve also had a bit of a creative block, feeling rather UNinspired, a little discouraged that things cost money in general, and the weather’s been gloom and doom. Anyway, no more excuses! Here are some things I like and will hopefully get to do this weekend.

First, I love this little home-office area from Michelle Smith of Raleigh, NC. She’s an indie designer and has shared some lovely photos of her home on Design*Sponge.

Michelle Smith of Raleigh, NC, my home state!

Michelle Smith of Raleigh, NC, my home state!

Anyway, I usually throw my desk in a corner, and here I don’t really have a corner that I want to devote to it, but I do have a strange little 6-foot wall space between a couple of doors. Problem is, no shelving, so this made me want to do some DIY wall-shelves. My plan is plain ol’ metal brackets and some 2 x 8s. That’s a weekend project, and I’ll let you know how it goes.

Over at Apartment Therapy, a couple more DIYideas…

Cute upholstered coffee table bench

Cute upholstered coffee table bench

This bench used to be a coffee table… learn how to upholster your ugly coffee table and turn it into a bench or ottoman here.

Then I found this:

It looks like fabric... but its not!

It looks like fabric... but it's not!

It’s an “upholstered” nightstand, but guess what – she had some Amy Butler fabric that she made color copies of, cut them to fit, and mod-podged them on. Genius. Anyway, the nightstand is a bit much for me personally, but the concept is great, and it got me searching for some cool free graphic patterns to print out, in case you don’t have any Amy Butler fabric laying around. In just a few minutes I came up with a bunch, but really liked these vintage wallpaper graphics – high resolution and free (and also, perhaps the background of that new header you see up there)… They are on the lost and taken blog, click the image below to download the ZIP file, or just go directly to the article!

Click here to download free vintage wallpaper graphics.

The author also came up with a second set, which is also lovely, and you can find by click the next image:

Love this set as well

Love this set as well

Anyway… I gotta hit the gym! I hope you all have a fabulous day, I’ll update more, I promise!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Creative blocks and renewed inspiration at ittle.

meta

